May 19, 2006

pay off

Posted in Idioms at 9:57 am by Feng

pay off — to bribe [dict]

Last night, I attended a group discussion on the book 'Da Vinci Code', organized by the local Christians in Cambridge. I have no religion. Yet, I am interested to find out what Christians think about this "anti-Christian" book. To my surprise, the invited speaker was quite open-minded. He actually encouraged the audience to read the book and watch the forthcoming film, as he believed the judgement must be left to the audience themselves. When I told this to a Christian friend, he couldn't believe this. "Was he paid off by Sony Pictures?" he asked me.

Leave a Reply

